Spring Cleaning, LIST style!

One of the blogs i follow, Iowa Girl Eats,  has a great list on Spring Cleaning.  and since temps here are hitting the 70’s (!) i def have a bit of spring fever.  (Sure to be cooled down when i am in Iceland…) but man, a list of things to do? MY FAVE! so here is her list, updated and interpreted by me 🙂

  1. Organize your Finances- My plan? work through my taxes (obvi) AND find a better solution for my cable/phone/internet.  i currently have them provided by 2 diff companies (one for cable/phone, one for cable) and feel like i can consolidate these and save some real $$.
  2. De-Clutter your home- This is like the neverending project for me.  I think i have a tiny bit of hoarder blood in my genes (thanks dad!) so i have way too much stuff for one person.  As i think i listed in my goals i really want to tackle my upstairs and clean that out. Also my entertainment system area.  And my kitchen.
  3. Donate your unused stuff- This is an obvious one for me.  Hello Interfaith! you could also have a garage sale, but those aren’t too successful for me.  Could have been the extreme lack of planning on my part, but still, think i’ll just stick to donating.
  4. Get a Haircut- Check and Check. doing this tonite actually.  My hair tends to get so long that i start shutting it my car door.  Time for a trim!
  5. Clean out your makeup bag- Oh the makeup bag/drawer/basket/closet. I have a lot of products. Like A LOT  Time to go through and chuck everything that i haven’t used in a year.  Also time to clean my brushes (which you should really do every few weeks). Also time to get rid of those nail polishes that are from college…. Anything that isn’t super old, but you rarely use? Take it on vacation. Use it, then leave/chuck it.  Give it one last hurrah.
  6. Disinfect your work space- I need to do this ASAP.  Everyone at work is sick and hacking up a lung everywhere.  Also i need to re-decorate my workspace.  i had my office painted (last year….) and have yet to hang my certifications and licenses back on the walls.  I also have yet to put up the gorgeous picture of france that i lugged all the way from france.  Procrastination at its finest.
  7. Assess your workout Gear- I like this one cause it has the potential for shopping.  I KNOW i need new sneakers.  gonna keep my old ones around till the mud run in May but i assume after then they will be toast.  Plus i want ones that are better for running.  Maybe that will make me go running more? Any workout clothes i haven’t worn in over a year: Donate. Unless there is a really great piece shoved in the back that i forgot about.
  8. Clean out your inbox- Do you really need those emails from 3 years ago? Do you really need to save that voicemail that is just”hilarious”? Do you really need to stockpile magazines? NO! and you can recycle the mags and feel good about yourself for saving the planet. Bonus.
  9. Volunteer your Time- It will make you feel good about yourself! I really want to help landscape the habitat house i helped build (and by helped build, i mean i went twice… next house i will do better!)
  10.  Eat better Now- One of my new goals for this spring is to get a new, awesome blender, so i can make those green smoothies.  I eat pretty healthy already, but i feel as though i am deficient in my fruits and veggies… so green smoothies it is.
2 thoughts on “Spring Cleaning, LIST style!

  1. Hey Maria! Really enjoying your blog. You have a definite flair for the humorous. But I already knew that:). I’m going to Vegas for a convention, did you enjoy Peep Show? Also, any other tips would be great.

    • oh man Vegas was sooo fun! if you want to go to a show, in the morning go to one of the same day tix stands (there is one down the strip a little from planet hollywood (in the direction of MGM). Peepshow was pretty racy, but very entertaining. they also have like a zillion cirque shows. try to stop by the cosmopolitan for a drink in the chandelier bar. see the bellagio water show (i think it’s like every hour) and try and see the pirate ship battle in front of treasure island. bring comfy shoes if you plan to walk down the strip and check out hotels, i had flip flops and my feet were DYING. go in the different hotels cause they are gorgeous. and if you have time, try and eat in the restaurant IN the eiffel tower. really great view and good food!

Leave a Reply

